Read The Stranger Diaries by Elly Griffiths Online

The Stranger Diaries

From the author of the beloved Ruth Galloway series, a modern gothic mystery for fans of Magpie Murders and The Lake House.Clare Cassidy is no stranger to murder. A high school English teacher specializing in the Gothic writer R. M. Holland, she teaches a course on it every year. But when one of Clares colleagues and closest friends is found dead, with a line from R. M. Holl...

Title : The Stranger Diaries
Author :
Rating :
ISBN : -
Format Type :
Number of Pages : 352 pages
Genres :

The Stranger Diaries Reviews

  • Blair

    Clare teaches English – key stage 3 in term time, adult creative writing courses over the holidays – and specialises in the work of R.M. Holland, a 19th-century writer of ghost stories whose personal life was as lurid as his fiction. At the beginning of the book, Clare receives a phone call with the awful news that her friend and colleague Ella has been murdered. She's later told a handwritten note was found next to Ella's body: a phrase from The Tempest, 'hell is empty'. The quote also happens ...more

  • Michelle

    The Stranger Diaries has the elements of a police procedural, gothic mystery, and possibly a haunting. Yes! Yes! & Yes!

    Clare Cassidy is a well respected English teacher. Divorced, she lives with her daughter, Georgie, and her adorable pup, Herbert. (I love Herbert!!!) Her best friend and fellow English teacher, Ella, has been discovered murdered and covered in stab wounds. A note lay beside her reading "Hell is Empty".

    A book within a book. Clare teaches a class on R.M. Holland's horror nov
    ...more

  • Jessica Woodbury

    If you enjoyed the way MAGPIE MURDERS combined a cozy country mystery with a modern one, THE STRANGER DIARIES does something similarly smart with gothic novels. It totally gets the gothic tradition to the point that I got actually creeped out a few times while reading it. While not quite a horror novel, it was really enjoyable. (The short story by the fictional Victorian writer in the book is A+, I loved all the bits of it scattered throughout the book.)

    This mystery walks a fine line between kee
    ...more

  • Holly  B

    An absorbing and unsettling contemporary thriller that mirrors a gothic tale~

    Some elements I loved~

    1. There is a gothic Victorian book placed inside the main story. ooh...book inside a book

    .

    2. Several points of view.

    3. The mixture of modern and old school.

    4. Police procedural mixed with the creepiness of the setting.

    5. A quirky female detective with a sharp eye for inconsistencies. (She was my fave)

    6. The setting of a "haunted" school.

    If your craving something a little different from you
    ...more

  • Rachel Hall

    Elly Griffiths first sensational standalone is a magnificent piece of storytelling that manages to combine a contemporary murder mystery between the pages of a chilling Gothic ghost story and proves as entertaining as it is atmospheric. The Stranger Diaries not only works as a homage to the work of R.M. Holland, a fictional Victorian writer known for his Gothic mysteries, but it also brings to life his crowning achievement in the form of his notable short story, The Stranger. Cleverly worked and ...more

  • Jess at JessicaWrites.co.uk

    DNF @ 5%

    I am just not a fan of the way this is written and it's making it incredibly difficult to read and get into/invested. I feel bad for not even getting 25% through as this was an ARC but I just can't bring myself to carry on.

  • Liz Barnsley

    Modern gothic with a noir feel, a creepy intelligently woven story and a proper old school whodunit, The Stranger Diaries is a beautifully immersive reading experience. I read it all in one go. Excellent. Full review for publication in November.

  • Lucy Banks

    I received a copy of this book from Netgalley in exchange for an honest review.

    An eerie, cleverly written whodunnit - very enjoyable!

    It's always a pleasure when I dive into a book with no preconceptions and am pleasantly enthralled by what lies within! I had no idea what sort of story would be, but right from the start, became swiftly engrossed in it.

    Clare Cassidy is an attractive middle-aged woman - working at a school as a teacher, with a teenage daughter called Georgia. The school happens to
    ...more